Completely lost – days before the Lebanese Elections – Updated

02Jun09

One of the fools here at the Innercircle (speaking on their behalf) have been following the Lebanese elections closely;

Though, I am forbidden to vote, I nagged at the embassy by a phone call, because the Lebanese Government, has delayed letting Lebanese residing abroad to vote, in order to pitch in our ideals for a Lebanon as a beacon. But thats besides the point this election season.

          I am at a loss. I am at a loss on figuring out which of these camps has the least impact on my freedom. While holding my ‘tribal’ values, and existential entity in the Middle East. I am more concerned with the Christian districts (and one Sunni seat in Saida), which happen the be, un-incidentally, the most democratic and interesting battles in this elections, this time around.

I am at a loss, for figuring out which of these candidates are convincing me through fear, in order to achieve their well-intentioned ideas. I am also concerned on the international opinion of Lebanon, and the Lebanese government. I am confused how, the much talked about Hezbollah, really aims to get its rights without war with Israel, unless there are no other means; And if indeed these arms will be needed to get these nationalistic aims. As a Lebanese Christian, I have deep respect for their organizational resistance and liberating their lands and hometowns, which is finally Lebanese.

I also understand, that the Tayyar el Watani el Hurr, and the movement behind it*, with the potential seats of Sleiman Frangieh, would have the most representation of Lebanese Christians in one block, and probably the largest single block in the next parliament, if the current opposition takes the majority, and there is no way for the Lebanese Christians in the current majority to be able to achieve that, even if they would win the polls in their entirety.

*Concerning their ‘leader’. I have reservations towards the character of General Michel Aoun. Aoun comes from the military tradition, and hence  has an attitude and behavior of conduct which has no place in the followings he enjoys, thats my opinion at least.

Even still – I have no favors. Hezbollah could be a wager with more dangerous consequences, than building a country under status-quo non-active anti-Israeli role. I refuse to have Lebanese a front for a war with Israel. Not because I don’t think they deserve it, but because its a danger to me, being Israel’s neighbor.

Update – The Lebanese Christian dilema in the 2009 Parliamentary Elections

No Responses Yet to “Completely lost – days before the Lebanese Elections – Updated”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,733 other followers