Lebanon’s Green Party

22Aug08

CEO of Grey Advertising, Philippe Skaff Alluring CEO of Grey Advertising in the Middle East, Philippe Skaff was elected yesterday president of the Green Party in Lebanon. At a meeting held at the Monroe Hotel, Nada Zaarour, president of the Association for Forests, Development and Conservation (AFDC) was elected Green Party vice president, political analyst Osama Safa secretary general and Sawsan Abu Fakhredinne, director general of AFDC, was elected treasurer.

The party’s slogan “The earth knows no religion” is aimed to prevent Lebanon’s forests from disappearing, which are being depleted at an alarming rate. Skaff added that “5,000 years ago a squirrel could travel the whole country by merely hopping from tree to tree.”

“Out of 863 samples of our drinking water, 40 percent proved to be microbiologically polluted,” he said, adding that while there were “800 companies selling water in Lebanon, only 11 percent are approved by the Ministry of Health. The rest operate illegally.”

Fakhreddine likewise stressed the secular nature of the Green Party, saying that members in political parties “could not run” for public positions within the party.

In the next few years, we need to focus on gaining more support,” she said.

Adding to that, Skaff said “I cannot pretend that Lebanese people will rally us because of our non-confessional status, but I know a lot of them have had enough with sectarianism.”

Skaff recalled that French philosopher Ernest Renan once described Beirut as ‘the Florence of the Orient.‘ But 10 years ago, he said, French magazine “Paris Match voted it the ugliest city on the Mediterranean.

We are ‘the change’ we wish to see in the world, and this starts with me, and you. – M.K Ghandi

Like much other posts, the Lebanese Inner Circle will constantly update any news on the Green Party in Lebanon.

Update: Joining the Green Party.

41 Responses to “Lebanon’s Green Party”

  1. 1 Kala

    It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or suggestions.
    Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

  2. It is not my first time to visit this website, i am visiting this web site dailly
    and get good information from here every day.

  3. 3 FOUAD WEHBE

    DEAR MR SKAFF

    I SEEN YOUR PROJECT PLAN ON THE TV. I AM INTERESTING A BOUT IT

    ( BEIRUT RIVER) IT IS VERY GOOD IDEA FOR LEBANESE PEOPLES

    PLEASE SEND TO ME COPY BY EMAIL OR HOW I CAN GET

    MY PHONE IS 03191287

    THANKS YOU

    FOUAD WEHBE

  4. 4 FOUAD WEHBE

    DEAR MR PH.SKAFF
    I SEEN YOUR PROJECT PLAN ON THE TV ABOUT THE BEIRUT RIVER.IT IS LOVELY

    AND I AM INTERESTING ABOUT IT.

    I WOULD LIKE IF POSSIBLE I GET ONE COPY CD , HOW I CAN GET IT

    MY PHONE NUMBER IS 03191287 OR TO SEND TO MY EMAIL

    THANKS YOU

    FOUAD WEHBE

  5. 5 Zac

    Hello Philippe,
    I hope you are well,i read about you in an article.i know you and mum did not get alone that well at the end but i had some really good memories about our time together.
    If you are ever in England it would be nice to see you.
    Hope to hear from you soon.
    Zac.

    zaccliff@hotmail.com

  6. 6 Aouni El Danaf

    Once I read about the formation of the Green Party in Lebanon in the papers, I felt that the idea gripped me, for numerous reasons I will bore you if I mentioned it all in this comment cadre.
    Perhaps ,the most important is that I recently visited my friend in Berlin and saw amazing care to environment, that is known to every one,but when you see it you believe it unlike watching it on TV or being told about it like fairy tales.

    I would like to join this party and get my friends to be members too.

  7. How can I become a member in the green party of Lebanon?

  8. Zeina, you will find all the info you are looking for on http://www.greenpartylebanon.org. Enjoy it.

  9. 9 zeina elbakht

    hi … I would like to join Lebanon’s Green Party… can you explain me more about your activities … thanks

  10. 10 Dr souheil chamandi

    I am so proud of your party.
    So eager to join you.

  11. This is very encouraging. I can already feel that the Green party of Lebanon is going to snowball. We have launched the party officially on Marcel’s talk show two days ago and already we have over three hundred members, the way we want it, from all walks of society and from all religions… and Richard, I want you to correct the impression that you got: I am not at all blaming the maronites for what happened to our country, if you had listened more carefully you would have understood that I targeted everybody without exception…it is true however that those who seeked and got us independence from the french are the maronites( and we are thankful to them ever) but they had never ruled before , neither did any other community for that matter. The comparison was between us and the European democracies not between the maronites and the other local communities. I can understand your frustration if this is what you thought I meant but please be sure that I wouldn’t dare blame any particular sect in Lebanon for the state we are in… we are all to blame and we are all asked to do something about it. What matters now is a new speech, a new kind of voice, and a party that calls for a total revolution in the way we look at ourselves and at our future.

    We have inherited a natural paradise and if only we knew how to preserve it we would be the richest nation on earth, we are born on the most exclusive piece of real estate in the east… we should not have to be begging for work abroad…we can be rich at home… all we need is good governance, and a lot of vision. Khalss, enough is enough.

    You can join the party through the site: http://www.greenpartylebanon.org

    And Richard, I want you in, and all that have seen… we need all those who still believe in Lebanon, and believe me, with you we can still be a majority.

  12. 12 jennifer

    just when i started to loose faith, just when i started to become a cynical viewer… i saw Mr skaff on lbc & it gave me hope…
    hoping that i didn t misdjuge,
    hoping that mr skaff is for once different,
    hoping that this party is truly what i was dreaming of for this country and myself,
    i fully hold you responsible of any disappointement
    you made us reconsider, you made us think again and along with this comes a huge burden that you, as a party, has now the obligation of carrying…
    when you don t excpect, you don t care…
    but now we re waiting….& you have responsabilities…we cannot afford another lie or another disappointement…
    so good luck, god only knows how much you need it…

  13. 13 Rima Kanso

    hi i watched the kalam el nas yesterday first time feel proud. MR Ghanem choosed the best guest who may be gave us hope to keep on trying to make a diffrence
    glad to know that still have in lebanon peopole who care i’ll be honored to join if i can
    so if possible email me the right site i couldn’t find
    thank you Marcel GHANEM Thank you MR SKAFF

  14. 14 walid ghanem

    Hi, i saw the Kalam nas yesterday about the Green Party with Mr Skaff and it was wonderful; so can u tell me how can i be a member ? and specialy i live out of leb

    Best Regards

    Walid Ghanem

  15. 15 georges abdallah

    that`s what we need , good bye for old , stinky , frustrating parties , this country needs cleaning including political parties.
    we are the future and they`re the past … we must grow and run this beautiful country :)

  16. 16 Marwan Dimas

    I like the link between the deterioration of the environment and the deterioration of the general political and social environment … we have become barbaric 80% of the lebanese are simply barbaric look at how we drive …look at how we hold a queue …look at how we talk to each other…nothing aristocratic about it … el harka mouch bil aleb …el harka bil 3akel …
    yes the politicians are to blame …but the people “ne7na ya3ne” are the real source of corruption…

    Philippe great initiative thank you …
    w khalle 2albak akhdar !!!

  17. 17 Hamzi K. Moghrabi

    Need more information about participation in action for sustainable environment in Lebanon.

    Hamzi

  18. 18 Aida Hage Ali

    At last a green party.
    the only party in my beloved country that i will join with honour and respect ,after depriving us from many not to mention.
    my religion is Lebanon and only Lebanon.
    would like to add a quote from the Prophet (i wish every lebanese memorize it )

    And if you would know God be not therfore a solver of riddles.
    Rather look about you and you shall see Him playing wit your children.
    And look into space, you shall see Him walking in the cloud, outstretching His arms in the lightning and descending in rain
    You shall see Him smiling in flowers,then rising and waving His hands in trees.
    KHALIL GIBRAN
    AIDA HAGE ALI
    ,,,,,,,,,
    well done Marcel Ghanem ,a voice for all of us

  19. 19 Vicky Naimeh Antar

    I WOULD LIKE TO JOIN THIS PARTY.HOW?
    REGARDS,
    VICKY ANTAR

  20. 20 Nassim Haddad

    I would like to join Lebanon’s Green Party. Let me know how. I am currently living and working in KSA.
    Regards,
    Nassim Haddad

  21. 21 Jean El Azzi

    Dear sirs,
    I’m very proud of you president and members…God bless your steps.
    Please help me to get into your party.

  22. 22 Toni Cordahi

    Great talk show Mr. Skaff with Marcel Ghanem. Full support for your Party. I would like to join and be a Lebanese member
    Toni cordahi

  23. 23 Alice Hajj

    Great talk show Mr. Skaff with Marcel Ghanem. Full support for your Party. I would like to join and be a Lebanese member as I am currently a member of Green Party in Calgary, Canada.
    Alice Hajj

  24. 24 hussien tarhini

    greatt workkk…. full support for u
    i would like to join

  25. 25 Raja Aridi

    Your party is Good news to us,
    we like to join…
    Lebanese living in Dallas Texas USA

    Regards,
    Raja Aridi

  26. 26 Issam Hage-Ali

    Dear All members of the Lebanese Green Party,

    Listening tonight to Mr. Marcel interview with Mr. Philippe Skaff all I say after 33 years out of Lebanon when the war started a war I refuse.

    Congratulations to have a voice like that of Mr. Skaff. Now I could say may be there is hope in our land which it seems we do not deserve as a nation forgetting our children of tomorrow.

    I am LEBANESE my religion is LEBANON my God is the GREEN Cedars of my beloved homeland. Our CEDARS are our living GREEN surviving 3500 years plus of Lebanese disgrace & humiliation.

    Mr. Skaff be forcefull & have the Green join the elections through you or any good professional Green Lover of your party & I beg you as the Lebanese Green Party to remain away of the religious sects CANCER.

    Funny my Birth was in Accra Ghana My roots go to the South Nabatieh My house is in KOURAH facing the BALAMAND my vote for you will be in BEIRUT whatever name the Party will nominate or endorse.

    THANKS FOR THE HOPE YOU GAVE & I LOOK FORWARD FOR THE PARTY TO REMAIN GREEN AWAY FROM ALL TYPES OF POLUTION TO NATURE & MAINLY THE SECTERIANISM

    AS YOU RIGHTLY SAID
    With My best wishes for success.
    Issam Hage Ali
    PO box 2725
    Salmiyah 22028
    Kuwait

  27. 27 Richard

    I am a Lebanese American who lives in the US.. I caught a piece of an interview with your President Philip Skaff today with Marcel Ghanam on Kalam el Nass..I got very interested to watch it since it was not a political show, but I was very disappointed with Mr. Philip and his introduction to the party..Since this a green party and its objective is to save the environment and find solutions to the environment, I found him drifting away to use the blame system where he will lose his audience motivation to listen to the rest of the interview, and I found him to be anti-Maronite and anti-establishment. He came across sounding that the Maronite leadership who inherited lebanon’s leadership was uneducated and the other sects could have done better.. If this is the way to start, this is a very bad start..We all have ruined the environment and not one sect to blame..If I was thinking to join, Now I am apt to be careful and be little suspeciuos of your motives..When we are dealing with any environmental issue we all become equal in the blame, and to trace the historical ruin of the environment only on the maronite leadership is unfair and unjust, and a public apology should be given by Mr. Skaff..That is a very bad start on TV…

  28. 28 mohamed kanaan

    hello everyone, i will be very proud joining this party. so what are the procedures??
    thank you..

  29. THE PRESIDENT OF THE GREEN PARTY,
    I WATCHED YOUR INTERVIEWED ON LBC TV AND WAS IMPRESSED WITH YOUR ENTHUSIASM TOWARDS OUR GREAT LEBANON.

    Allow me Mr Skaff, to congratulate you for having been chosen as the president of the party.
    Loving the Environment is the one quality that indicateS your love to lebanon, because our environment is what makes Lebanon.
    If we destroy the ecology and polute our land, air and waters, this means that we hate Lebanon…
    You will only do harm to your enemy and not to the one you love…
    So, if we can get more people, like you, to Love Lebanon and its mountains, trees, land, waters and sky…
    Then we will have Pariotic Lebanese…

    I am an environmentalist and working seriouly towards several environmental projects internationally and I wish to indicate my keen interest to be a member of your party.

    Congratulations again for your frank and enthusiastic interview and I commend you highly for your spirit of patriotism and love for Lebanon.

    Sincerly,
    Pierre Karam
    Environmentalist

  30. 30 Myrna Baz

    how to become a member of ur green party, with all my respect mr. philippe, after i saw it or hear about it from ” kalam el nass” , it’s a honner to be a part of this hezeb.
    best regards.

  31. 31 Bernard Hatem

    It’s a little too late, but better later than never! More power to you :)

    B. Hatem USA

  32. 32 Ray E.

    hi,

    Philippe, I admire your thinking and I would to happy to be a part of this party

  33. 33 Jamal Abdul Samad

    Greetings,

    I am from the Shouf Mountains of Lebanon and currently I am working and living in Saudi Arabia but I am very interested in joining you to restore the natural beauty and environmental harmony to Lebanon. The next generations to come will not forgive us. We should set a goal to get Beirut Particularly and Lebanon in general to be the cleanest and most environmentally sound area in the Mediterranean in our lifetime.

    Jamal A. Samad
    +966 54 340-5656
    jamal@samad.net

  34. 34 sahar Charara

    Hello Philippe,

    How about creating user-friendly links to your party, so interested people could visit and join?

    and who knows better than you how to market the party, just a little bit more so interested people know of its existence – instead of merely coming across it while looking you up!

  35. 35 Imad Jamal

    Finally….a classy party that fullfills our uttermost ambitions…it’s time for”the concrete republic” to have it’s impact on our society…and now with the green party, the cause is set on the right track….how can we become members…and does the party have a website…we are your green soldiers don’t hesitate in asking for our support…it’s our least duty

  36. 36 Dalida Sneifer Rahal

    Congratulations!
    How can I become a member with Lebanon’s green party?

  37. 37 Faisal

    How can I become a member in the green party of Lebanon?

  38. I kind of disagree, the french want to judge us now?
    Lebanon is still the green-est around.
    Efforts appreciated CEO :)

  39. 39 Alain T. Mouhawej

    “Grey” is turning “Green”! Bravo Philippe (my ex boss) …with you all the way.

  40. I only hope that one day will come when a Lebanese green party can run for elections, just like in all other civilized countries. I will be the first one to vote for them.

  41. 41 Imad Hashim

    Congratulations!
    How can I become a member with Lebanon’s green party?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,733 other followers